Knowing the Technology

Hi guys, for my third post, I’ll be talking about the main technologies I’ve used through the years and how I’ve used them. I’ve chosen a clock work as a feature image to show that we need to understand every piece of a certain technology for us to make it work.

And to understand them, I’ll be explaining them to you on this post  and also I’ll also be handing out different links (which I’ve used a lot) to help you get the resources needed and other knick-knacks for the learning process in the future.

Once I have time, I’ll also post tutorial videos on the topics that I’m going to discuss since I know many of us need 2 or more channels to learn stuff cause we’re only humans 😀

Without further ado, let’s talk about Selenium and QTP.

 

Selenium Webdriver

So why do you need knowledge on Selenium? Well first, it’s an open source tool. Many companies hire Software Test Automation Engineers that have an experience in Selenium Webdriver because they can use it for free unlike QTP which has a premium price.

I’ll say it again, it’s FREE! It means that you can practice it at your own home and be an expert with just enough time and dedication. Its only limitation is that it is powerful on ONLY on browser automation.

If you’ve done your research, you must have read that Selenium Webdriver is a very powerful automation tool for browsers. Currently I’ve been using it to test in Mozilla Firefox and Google Chrome, I believe it can be extended to other browsers as well. As of this writing, there are a few languages that supports Selenium.

 

“Wow that’s a lot of languages!!What now??”

-OR-

Where do I begin?!”

Maybe that’s only 2 of the many questions that pop into your mind. Don’t worry I’ll be having a tutorial on creating automated test scripts with Java (since this is what I mainly use) and teach you step by step. You can always throw me a couple of emails, don’t be shy, I want you to learn more through asking!

It also tells me that this blog isn’t dead… haha! Kidding aside, your questions/ comments mean a whole lot to me. 😉

And lastly, as a side note, learning how to develop automated test scripts using Selenium is an easier way to land a job in test automation. But maybe you’re not finding a job? Well it also broadens your knowledge in the field of Quality Assurance. Introducing test automation in your current test approach will help the project you’re currently working on a lot, in terms of test coverage and quality of software before going live.

QTP / UFT

qtp

My experience with QTP was ‘easier’ compared to Selenium. Why? Because of Object Repositories and Object Spy. These are the bread and butter of QTP. It lets you identify different objects in the Web Browser or even in Mainframe emulators and you can store them in the Object Repository. It’s a less of a hassle compared to Selenium since everything in Selenium (as far as I know) gets coded.

Quick Tip: Page-Object Models can be used in Selenium as a counterpart for the Object Repository.

QTP is really powerful because it can be used to test with different technologies because of its add-ins. Ranging from Mainframe emulator support to iOS support.Of course, this comes with a hefty price tag. According to http://www.pushtotest.com, price starts at $7,500 per seat and any casual tester doesn’t have the budget to invest that. That’s why huge companies can support the licensing of QTP.

Looking backwards, I’ve had a fair share of experience with using QTP, from creating Business Process (BPT) components to the back-end coding itself. We’ve also incorporated HP Quality Center with QTP that’s why creating a test seems easier when using this technology. It came to the point that when there are new test scenarios, we just drag and drop BPT Components to it.

Quick Tip: BPT Components are pre-defined series of steps developed by the QTP expert so that a non-QTP expert can use it to create a test scenario.

If your project is currently using QTP/UFT and have a bit of questions, you can send me an email regarding that and I’ll be happy to help!

TL;DR Version

*for those who have a sense of Too Long; Didn’t Read, here’s a summary of my chit chat. 🙂

Selenium Webdriver

Pros

  1. Open source
  2. Huge community support
  3. Used by a lot of companies because of it being free
  4. Supported by different programming languages and IDE.
  5. Can be integrated with Continuous Integration platforms like TeamCity and Jenkins.
  6. Can be learned by anyone at home

Cons

  1. Code everything from scratch
  2. Constricted on web browser test automation, need other extensions or tools  to properly test outside web browsers (e.g. Sikuli)

QTP

Pros

  1. Lots of Add-ins that support different platforms that can be tested.
  2. Lots of tools within the IDE.
  3. Can be integrated with HP Quality Center that can create Business Process Tests.

Cons

  1. Newbies can only use it in a 30-day trial
  2. Expensive

 

Any thoughts or suggestions about this post? Hit me with an e-mail and let’s discuss! Have a great day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

